Willimantic History

Willimantic is an Algonquin Indian term meaning

“land of the swift running water.”

Willimantic was also known as the

“Thread City,”

due to the production of silk, cotton and rayon threads.

I believe that it was also known as the Brass city?

At least this is what it was called over in Uncasvillage while growing up with my elders.

We in this home miss stopping in your town for a bite to eat while traveling to and from the powwow trail.

Welcome to the visitor from the City of Willimantic Connecticut

To my website about out old prayer rock.

Cauchegan Rock

http://www.sachem-uncas.com/cauchegan.html

I see that you are also one of my return visitors, welcome back.

I will be asking my Web Designer Gator-Women

http://www.gator-woman.com/

To add you to the list on my blogger.

As usual if you have questions please feel free to write?

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

