Christian

What is a Christian?

This post is not about me picking one religion over another, it is only an investigation and my reasoning for the use of the word.

While back tracking my postings checking on visitors I noticed that many times I use the word Christian, so I started to wonder just what people think about me and/or my use of this word.

So, I started my homework.

It would seem that the churches have the basic’s?

Although I found many sites giving many of their answers to the question at hand.

Guess that I am starting to see why there are so many different denominations with their own churches?

I chose to stay away from website addresses with this posting for that very reason.

I would be filling this post with addresses and also this post is not me picking one over another.

Christianity teaches, or at least what I see in their bibles, it should teach

The mark of a true Christian is love for others and obedience to God’s Word

(1 John 2:4, 10).

When I use the word or words with it in the sentence I am thinking,

“To walk as if one is Christ!”

Yes, you must believe in Christ.

Yes, you must believe that Christ is the 2nd part of the trinity.

Yes one must believe that Christ came to Mother Earth and why?

All Christians say that they believe this.

So, if a Christian does believe, why not believe in Christ’s words,

(1 John 2:4, 10)?

1 John 2:4-10New International Version (NIV)

4 Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in that person. 5 But if anyone obeys his word, love for God[a] is truly made complete in them. This is how we know we are in him: 6 Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.

7 Dear friends, I am not writing you a new command but an old one, which you have had since the beginning. This old command is the message you have heard. 8 Yet I am writing you a new command; its truth is seen in him and in you, because the darkness is passing and the true light is already shining.

9 Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates a brother or sister[b] is still in the darkness. 10 Anyone who loves their brother and sister[c] lives in the light, and there is nothing in them to make them stumble.

So why all of the back biting, back stabbing, lies, half truths and judging by our “Christian members” in our government?

Is this the words that Jesus Christ has sent you (Christians) out into the world for?

Mark 16:15 (CJB)

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Christian

  1. Kentucky Angel

    You will know we are Christian by our acts. Sitting in church one day a week does not make a Christian, preaching the Bible does not make a Christian, even reading the Bible daily does not make a Christian. If that was all it took this would be a much better world. We have a Congress full of self proclaimed Christians, but when you look at their actions, I’m not sure Christ, the One who began the Christian (who was actually Jewish) religion, would agree they are Christians. A Christian gives freely of him/her self, and nowhere does it say they take away from the poor to give more to themselves. A Christian helps others, not helps themselves to what others have. No, Sachem, there are very few Christians in our government, or in our world, for that matter. The act of walking into a church on Sunday does not make a person a Christian. It makes a lot of hypocrites though.

Leave a Reply

