Only one way to clean up the Race Card

Stop having a Race Card?

I grow up a Mohiigan I guess that was my “Race Card?”

Stay-at-home mom, feminist, wife

http://unhonest.com/

Karen Cordano wrote,

“I Don’t Know How to Talk to My Kindergartener About Race?”

Posted on April 17, 2015 by Uncomfortably Honest

T included a classmate in a drawing at school.

He wrote the child’s name and put a label beside the picture.

Black.

Another student informed the teacher who took T aside and explained they do not use terms like white and black at school because those words can hurt feelings.

His teacher assured me he was using the word as a descriptor and not out of meanness.

I get it. And I don’t get it. And I get it.

Karen

Stop having a Race Card?

A child does not know anything about race or color this must be taught!

Karen Cordano

Karen, you and your husband need to take your family to a non-White family and become

“Good Friends.”

Don’t know any?

Find some.

I truly believe that any non-African-American for instance, that shows up at a African American Church and asks permission to join the service will be purged from the race card for life.

I grew up in a mixed town, if you will, and my friends were all great friends,

get it?

As a youngster a few of us would spend time on the weekend outside the window or door to a small church enjoying the music until one day we got caught.

This old man invited us in to visit and from that day on I was hooked on friendship, still did not know about a Race Card until I moved south, not even while I was in the navy although I found out years later that it was there and even on my two ships?

People did not tech me about color and or race!

People taught me how to enjoy friendship.

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Only one way to clean up the Race Card

  1. Oh, this sure got my inner fire burning. Unlike you I grew up in the deep south, in the 1960s. You’d think the civil war never happened. Blacks were still treated more like slaves. My mother and I were from the north and could never understand their thinking. My step dad and I had many heated debates. Our society can never be truly healthy until race is no longer part of our vocabulary. As long as we still see color of skin as a reason to find them different we will never heal as a country. I home school my half Haitian grandson and race will never be an issue, however, do plan on teaching him of his beautiful Haitian heritage.

    • Thank you Ana Perry
      Unfortunately it is not just the south, without getting myself into a pickle war with friends of friends, when I was healthy we traveled the country and I can say without a doubt that many people in states north and west still throw around the race card while using vulgar language.
      While you are teaching your Haitian grandson, I may have a little helpful hint if you will?
      While those people mentioned above are spewing their filth, I wait until they wear down before telling them that both Donna and I have “Native and Black Blood” while turning our backs on them and walking away.
      You see, my friend,
      Donna has Blond hair, Blue eyes and White skin, she also has a lot of Shawnee blood (Ancestors)!
      I now have light brown skin because I have had Cardiomyopathy since the late 1980s (poor blood pressure) and can no longer go out in the sun, I have Mohiigan/African American blood.
      It will take much more than a blind eye to skin, it will take carful talks from diapers to grave!
      You are going a good thing for your grandson, his family and our country my friend.

      • Thank you, And you are right the racism card is used in the north. I lived in the Midwest and when kai was born his family had a hard time with it. I grew up in Mass, and while it wasn’t a race card the religion card played strongly, esp against Catholics.

        We still haven’t brought him to some family in GA, as they’ve made their attitudes known. It’s their loss, He’s beautiful, sweet, smart and full of life. I’d rather he not be exposed to such hate, esp at this age.

      • Ana Perry
        May the smoke of my prayers for you and your family meet with yours on the way Dailey to our Creator my friend ❤

      • Thank you for your prayers

      • The least I can do Ana. ❤

Leave a Reply

